The Princess Gene

Princess on the GrassI am convinced there is a DNA sequence for attraction to glitter, tulle, and feather boas.  I am convinced there is a unique DNA sequence for those who can pull off wearing all three, at once, with style.  That person has the Princess Gene.

Little Miss Adorable is blonde, blue-eyed toddler with an angelic smile.  People give her free stuff all the time.  She works her charm.  She picks out her own clothes, preferably pink and sparkly.  Little Miss Adorable shines when all attention is on her, and thrives with an adoring audience.  She has the Princess Gene.

Little Miss Adorable has Prader-Willi Syndrome.  This results from a random deletion on chromosome 15.  There are a host of physical and behaviour difficulties resulting from this deletion, but nowhere have I read about the Princess Gene.

As an infant with severe hypotonia Little Miss Adorable could barely move her muscles, but she preferred looking at pretty clothes, interesting patterns and jewellery.  Little Miss Adorable would undertake incredible efforts to reach out and touch someone’s earrings or necklace.  Some would make a case for nature and state that environmental factors and gender role socialization resulted in Little Miss Adorable’s very stereotypically female behaviour.  But I think she has the Princess Gene.

As a toddler most of Little Miss Adorable’s play involves ‘getting ready to go out’ or taking care of baby dolls or saying goodbye to baby dolls.  She puts on her jacket, puts her Minnie Mouse cell phone into her purse, hoists her purse on her shoulder and directs us on how to take care of her babies.  She then waves goodbye to her baby dolls and bum shuffles away.  I know where that came from.  Little Miss Adorable has watched me do this hundreds of times.  What’s really funny is when she holds her Minnie Mouse phone up to her ear while ‘writing’ on her Magic Slate aka her ‘laptop’.  This is clearly learned behaviour, and Little Miss Adorable is an exceptional mimic.  She even copies her toddler program teacher by holding ‘circle time’ for her baby dolls.  This is clear case for ‘nurture’ or environment shaping a person’s behaviour.  This is learned behaviour.

People who debate the role of ‘nature’ (the DNA you are born with) versus ‘nurture’  (how you are raised) will say that BOTH are important in child development, and you cannot clearly separate one from the other.  I say those folks overlooked the Princess Gene.  We tried to raise Little Miss Adorable in a very gender neutral, non-traditional environment.  It didn’t work – the Princess Gene took over.

I have no idea where Little Miss Adorable developed her strong fashion sense or dramatic flair.  We don’t own a TV, so it’s not the media.  As a stay at home mom my ‘dress up’ involves clean, washable comfy clothes for breastfeeding or playing in the dirt.  I am regularly seen in public in my pyjamas.  I wear comfy shoes that support my orthotics.  I often leave the house wearing slippers or flip-flops.  Make up is something that Mr. Sensitive plays with.  There is clearly no glamour here.

When Little Miss Adorable was a newborn I tried to dress her in neutrals, but somehow pink snuck in.  I resisted initially, complaining about drowning in a sea of pink when well-wishers bought countless little pink outfits.   As the laundry piled up and I ran out of clean clothes for her I gave up, and started dressing her in pink.  Then I argued that it improved her complexion and kept dressing her in pink.  I tried offering just gender-neutral toys.  Mr. Sensitive’s cars, trains and trucks were strewn across the floor.  Little Miss Adorable found the one baby doll I bought for Mr. Sensitive (and that he rejected, but that’s another story).  Little Miss Adorable cuddled that baby doll, wrapping it in a blanket, chatting to it.  One baby doll led to a half dozen.  Little Miss Adorable found the pink tutu I bought for Mr. Sensitive when he was in his princess-dancing phase.  She wore it endlessly.  It’s as though there is something deep inside of her that is drawn to girly stuff.  I call it the Princess Gene.  (I could also make a case for the Mommy Gene, but that is also another story.)

The biggest tantrums in Little Miss Adorable’s two-year old life have been around clothes – sparkly tiaras in the store, pink glitter shoes, sparkly pants that she absolutely had to have.  She cries with delight when entering a large shopping mall, “Yay! Clothes” and coos, “Oh, look at all the pretty clothes” and points to the mannequins, “Oh, look at that!”  I need to remind you that Little Miss Adorable is a two-year old with serious speech impairments riding in a stroller.  Little Miss Adorable regularly sees a Speech-Language Pathologist.  It looks like the ‘shopping’ part of her vocabulary is active and well-articulated.

The day our Readiness Centre organized a yard clean-up for Earth Day Little Miss Adorable refused to be put on the ground.  She said the grass ‘hurt.’  She went boneless and limp, and demanded to see the teacher.  The teacher explained that we were picking up garbage.  Little Miss Adorable asked to go home.  The adults were shocked, Little Miss Adorable was insistent.  We went home.  Clearly not enough glamour for the Princess Gene.

Recently our Readiness Centre had a talent show – imagine 30 preschoolers, toddlers and babies singing and dancing on stage.  Little Miss Adorable’s baby brother rocked out in a jolly jumper, kicking and bouncing away.  During the performance I sat on stage behind a row of dancing preschoolers.  I was there to support and supervise.  While everyone danced, Little Miss Adorable managed to bum-shuffle out of my grasp and shuffled through dancing preschoolers to the front of the stage.  She had a mini tantrum when I tried to pull her back.  Little Miss Adorable made her way to front and centre stage, waving at her adoring audience and doing the dance moves all by herself.

Little Miss Adorable is clearly destined for the spotlight.  She has the Princess Gene.

Little Miss. Adorable Steals the Spotlight - she can't walk, but sure can DANCE!
(she's supposed to be BEHIND the white line;)

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in disABILTY, Prader-Willi Syndrome and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Princess Gene

  1. alsfm says:

    I LOVE this post. We said the same thing about Addison. But she is all princess. I can’t wait to read more about Miss Adorable and everyone else. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. vandemom2 says:

    Roaring with laughter here! I now know what my daughter has. The Princess Gene, of course! How did I not recognize and diagnose that earlier? With 26 years under my belt you would think I would have known. Like your adorable girl, pink was perfect for my daughter’s complexion. Can’t wait to read more as this is the first I have read on your blog……was totally intrigued by the title 🙂

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

