Shut the Front Door!

My Front Door

My front door has been under the authority of property management for nearly three years now.  It’s also been sticking for that long.  I would fill out repair request forms and leave them with property management.  My door would still stick.  I would body-slam it shut.  Once, property management came by and changed the door knobs and plastered the base of the door.  They even painted it.  But it still sticks.  I would fill out forms and my door would still stick.  I gave up filling out forms.  I kept throwing my body at the door to get it to close.

Guests, watching me body-slam the door shut, would always comment, “You need to get that door fixed.”  I would agree, and then forget about it a moment later.  I was used to body-slamming the door shut.  A dozen times every day I would wrench the door open and body-slam it shut as I toted garbage bags, groceries, and children around.  I didn’t think about it.  To me, body-slamming became the normal way to shut my front door.

One day, much to my surprise, a carpenter showed up.  He adjusted the hinges and actually fixed the front door.  I was amazed to see the door swing silently shut.  No body-slamming required.  When the carpenter left I opened the door and watched it swing closed about a dozen times.  I was astounded.  And then I forgot about it and kept body-slamming the door closed.  Because that was how you close the front door.

I think anyone facing a major challenge, like a life-long disability, does what I did.  First they try to mobilize forces, fill-out forms, and try to solve the problem.  Some of the first solutions might not work at all. (fresh paint and a patch job?)  Then they just get on with it and go about their daily business.  They adapt to the problem.  Parents have told me how inspired they are and how moved to tears they are by my family.  I appreciate their kind thoughts, but am really just getting on with it.  I am body-slamming the door.  That is my normal.

I do not anticipate any miraculous cure for Prader-Willi Syndrome or Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy any time soon.  But, I wonder what will happen if a carpenter does show up one day to fix all our problems?

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in disABILTY, Parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

