You are Old, Father William (or, oh cr@p, I’m 37?!?)

Illustration from Lewis Carroll’s poem “You are Old, Father William” in “Alice and Wonderland.” This is a file from the Wikimedia Commons.
(copyright free, but thank you Wikipedia anyway)

“You are old, Father William,” the young man said,

“And your hair has become very white;

And yet you incessantly stand on your head—

Do you think, at your age, it is right?”
“In my youth,” Father William replied to his son,

“I feared it might injure the brain;

But now that I’m perfectly sure I have none,

Why, I do it again and again.”

Lewis Carroll – ‘You Are Old, Father William’

in Alice in Wonderland

Somehow I’ve become ‘old.’  I know half of the folks out there will say 37 isn’t old at all, try 82. Or 53. Or 67.  The other half will say, oh cr@p, you really are old. (I really don’t want to hear that right now, thanks.)

I want to think about the folks who say I’m not old at all – because they’re right.

Age is just a number.

You’re only as old as you feel.

They are right.  But still, I feel old.  And faintly surprised –   I’ve lost about ten years somewhere.  Hubby and I were friends who fell in love over ten years ago.  Fortunately, we still are friends, and in love.  Somewhere along the line we had three children.  We’ve also had countless pet, road trips and camping trips.  Time flies when you’re having fun!

Somedays I look up and am amazed to see my children – where did they come from?  I’ve been floating on ‘baby time’ where an afternoon seems like a week and months fly by like minutes.

I’ve realised that 37 is one of those years that I’ve decided was ‘old’.  I remember when my mom was 37, I was 10.  I remember when Hubby was 37, I was 29.  He seemed mature at the time, how little did I know;)

Now I’m 37, I don’t like it.  I saw the age flash on a Facebook profile and I was shocked and horrified.  No! Not me!

But it is me.  Just older, and hopefully wiser.

Just for fun check out “I’m an Adult Now” by The Pursuit of Happiness

(yes, they are an ‘old’ band too;)

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

