To all the blogs I’ve loved before

Shhh… baby’s sleeping.
Time to read some blogs.

I dreamed about blogging last night.  This is nothing new, I’ve dreamed in Twitter before too.  And yes, I posted the play-by-play of the birth of my baby on Facebook, until the doctors ordered me to turn off my phone.

I have to say, I’ve never (that I can remember) dreamed about a magazine article.

This just shows what a huge part of my life the online world is.  (Yes, I’m writing this while nursing the baby – I am a multitasking mama.)

I used to be a magazine junkie.  My bedside table was stacked with them.  At one point they were my lifeline to all things I held sacred.  (Yes, my Maclean’s subscription was once a beacon of hope.  Yes, I’m a loser.) 

I held long time subscriptions to Chatelaine and Canadian Living and hold those as a deep reflection of Canadian patriotism.  I’ve held Facebook discussions on Chatelaine vs. Canadian Living.  (For years I would have said Chatelaine wins hands down, but now I’m more of a Canadian Living person.)  In the 1980s my Grandmother talked about the importance of Chatelaine magazine, because it wasn’t like other women’s magazines, it was about real life.

But something’s changed.

Real life is online, in real time (or in scheduled posts).

Reading about real moms’ lives from around the world means better content than traditional women’s magazines.  And you know what, I read blogs by men too.

When I read other people’s blogs I step into their lives.  I see the world through your eyes.  I walk, cry and laugh with you.  Sometimes all at the same time.

I love the gritty humour of blogs. (ALSFM’s Get baby Jesus out of the Barbie carHonest Toddler’s Dear Police letter?)  I admire and respect the challenges people face (11 hour road trip w/ solo driver (mom) & three boys under 10? Surviving emotional infidelityHurricanes?).  People do things I don’t think I could get through.  I cry with you through your miscarriage and loss of your child.  I empathise when you’re dealing with complex medical needs.  My heart cries when your child says, “no one ever has Asperger’s like me, mom.”  I appreciate your honesty in talking about the horror of PPMD.  (There are some blogs I just have to read with a box of tissue beside me.)

I love seeing the world through your eyes and connecting.  The world is much smaller than we think.  (A big shout out here to EAsparagus girl, Spectrum Scribe, Coyotetooth and Aspienaut.)

I love reading about how you deal with the daily challenges of getting dishes done and food on the table (never mind picking toys up off the floor).

These issues are sanitized in magazines.  Which is, I guess, is their job.  They show us a version of ourselves we’d like to see to sell us stuff.  I know a few folks do make money for blogging (I’m very glad for you if you do – you are my idol).  But blogging is about ourselves and how we connect to each other.

Magazines are great for sound bites of ‘real life’ and finding the latest recipes or clothing styles.

But, if you wanna find a good, and I mean really good, chicken recipe? Tweet it.  In minutes you will have 100 chicken recipes from around the world that are bombproof.

My Grandma would be amazed.

Standard Canadian Apology: I am very sorry if I did not mention your blog.  I still love it.  (The baby just woke up.) 

Please add a link to your blog as a comment, and we can visit you then.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To all the blogs I’ve loved before

  1. I love reading / discovering new blogs for the reasons you have mentioned.

    When I was in my teens, I had magazine subscriptions but I have to agree that blogs are so much better because they are real and a lot of the content is posted real time.

    I’m particularly interested in family oriented blogs and ones about self improvement, good living, too, because sometimes my life makes a lot more sense when I read about the lives of other people. In some weird way, the experiences of others help put my life into perspective when I feel like I’m slipping away from what I thought was my reality.

    …Most of all…I like the honesty…and to an extent, the anonymity. It’s raw, it’s real and if you’re lucky, you get to be real life friends with some of these wonderful people.

    • Angela says:

      Exactly – I talk about people I’ve never met or really seen as intimate friends. I’ve walked inside their minds for a while, and I love the visit.

  2. alsfm says:

    Hey girl!!! Thanks for the shout out! I read over here all the time too (usually from my phone – I’m a multitasking mama too 😉 and appreciate all the times I see you over at my place too. I have 2 guest posters next week for just this very same reason – I love bloggers too. xo

    • Angela says:

      I was late picking up Mr. Sensitive from his bus the other day because I was busy having a laugh at your place. Completely lost track of time!

  3. Ms. MommyHH6 says:

    Reblogged this on Live, love & learn by SAHM & HH6 and commented:
    I love this blog, the author and this description of why we blog as well as the more important reason for why we read blogs. I agree, blogs are REAL, they connect us, they provide support, the inspire and they are honest. I will take blogs over media stereotypes, scripted TV and drama any day.

    • Angela says:

      Thank you for your kind words. I absolutely agree with you about blogs being real life and support for each other. I’d gladly read a blog over watching TV any day (actually, I don’t own a TV, but that’s another story;)
      PS. I love your blog – you have an amazing story to share

  4. Thank you so much for mentioning me. I am late to the party because I was out of town with no internet. I too am a blog addict for all the reasons you mentioned. i learn and understand so many of these things so much better when I can see them through someone else’s eyes.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

