Phone call from the Doctor…

Twitter June 29, 2012

Just found out Baby #3 does NOT have #DuchenneMD – why we’re not really too bothered about it http://ow.ly/bUweJ

I got the phone call the other day.  Our answering machine picked it up and I heard the familiar voice of the Chief of Genetics from our local hospital.

I dove for the phone, fumbled and shouted, “Hello, Hello?”

The doctor’s first words were, “You still have to add Baby Dunk to your answering machine message.”

She apologized for calling earlier and told me Baby Dunk does not carry the same dystrophin deletion as Mr. Sensitive.  That means that Baby Dunk does not have Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (or at least does not have the same kind as Mr. Sensitive).

Then she asked about how Little Miss Adorable and Mr. Sensitive were doing.  She is aware of Mr. Sensitive’s school issues, and asked about them.

The conversation felt like chatting with a hip Aunt.  She shops in New York and a visit with her means I make careful notes on her clothing.  She jokes about shopping for Prada with Little Miss Adorable.

She is also the smartest woman I know.  She holds information about statistics, medical procedures, general medicine, a host of genetic conditions, and the family’s own situation in her head.  She sees countless folks with genetic quirks and remembers them as people.

And that is how we approached the situation with Baby Dunk.

We wanted another baby.  No one ever wants a baby with a disability or a genetic quirk.  But, we wanted a baby.  And the risk of genetic quirks (Prader-Willi Syndrome or Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy in our case) was one we were willing to take.

We did not bother getting any prenatal testing when I was pregnant.  It wouldn’t make any difference anyway.  We wanted a baby.

Because even if Baby Dunk has Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, he would be our baby.  That’s what’s important.

Baby #3 and DMD?

For related articles check out:

About Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy

Prenatal Testing, or Frankly my Dear, I don’t give a D@mn: Baby #3 and DMD?

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in disABILTY, Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, Halfpastnormal is who we are, Prenatal Testing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Phone call from the Doctor…

  1. The best doctors are the ones who treat their patients as human beings and not just some piece of meat that they profit off of.

    I am fortunate enough to have found a good private doctor, one who genuinely cares for my welfare and he’s the type who can tell you anything – even the worst news and you’ll feel bad, sure, but you’ll feel alright knowing he’s right there to help. He also spends an extensive amount of time talking to me/ catching up and he doesn’t rush to kick me out the door for another patient.

    I’ve had doctors who just spent 10-15 minutes with me, wrote prescriptions and sent me on my way – they didn’t really care about ME as a person. They just wanted to give me medicine to fix whatever was wrong and get rid of me.

    It took 20+ years but at least I found a good doctor 😀 Your family doctor sounds like the one I have.

  2. I love this. It was exactly how I felt about having babies. Different genetic issues for us, but we declined all the usual pre-natal tests because we felt that deciding to have a baby was about wanting a child, with whatever that may bring

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

