To all the moms out there… I salute you

To all the moms who have flipped pancakes with a baby on their hip or gone pee while breastfeeding, I salute you.

To all the moms who seriously considered power washing their living room or kitchen, I salute you.

To all the moms who run on a caffeine IV, I salute you.

To all the moms who used strategic baby wipes as a step in getting ready before running out the door, I salute you.

To all the moms who have collapsed into bed as soon as the kids fall asleep, only to be woken up seemingly minutes later by a small child who is afraid of monsters, I salute you.

To all the moms who have restrained their child for a medical procedure, held them tight during their tears and screams, while choking back your own, I salute you.

To all the moms who have turned their back on a sink full of dishes and played with their child instead, I salute you.

To all the moms who take on too much and somehow juggle it all, multitasking their way through the day, collapsing into bed, only to wake up and do it all again the next day, I salute you.

To all the moms who have messy homes, busy lives, and happy children, I salute you.

To ALL the moms out there… I salute you.

Please share this with a mom you love.

 

 © Angela (2012) www.halfpastnormal.wordpress.com

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To all the moms out there… I salute you

  1. Melanie Prince says:

    At 1am I stumble upon your blog after googling autism, spd and sleeping. Ha ha. My precious boy is on his rocking horse watching lovely lullabys on you tube and I’m stressing about his lack of sleep and food at present. You are amazing!
    I have Matthew aged 3 with SPD , dyspraxia and a daughter 9 with ADHD…
    I loved your comment … Hitting the genetic lottery ! Hmmmm that is how I feel.
    Thanks for posting your life. I will continue to visit and enjoy your company!
    Love Melanie

    • Angela says:

      Welcome to my world – glad you found me!

    • Angela says:

      re- sleep
      Have you tried melatonin? Our pediatrician recommended it for us (my son was sleeping 4-6 hours a night and stuttering severely). Where I am melatonin is a natural suppliment available at a health food store. Check w/ your doctor first re- dosage.

      The first night we gave it to my son he fell asleep like he was sedated – and slept for 12 hours straight. Hubby & I stayed up all night watching him sleep, worried. When my son woke the next morning he was happy, refreshed and stutter-free! We were shocked. My son will stutter when tired now, but nothing like before. Obviously sleep & muscle coordination were affected.

  2. Michelle says:

    I salute you! You are amazing. We have an aquaintance here whose son has duchenne. They work tirelessly to raise awareness and money for the cause. Prayers for you all. I am so glad that you have a sense of humor to go along with all of this! It’s people like you that are HUGE inspiration for the rest of us. Hope you have a good week.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

