Boys

I have come to the sudden realisation that boys are very different from girls.  This not may be a shock to you, if you are experienced in the lives of boys.  This was a shock to me.  I knew about boys, in theory.  Then I had my own.

Reality is very different.  Feel free to slap me up-side the head and say, “Yeah, duh!”

I tried to raise my kids in as gender-neutral a way as possible.  Yellow and green baby clothes.  That lasted about a week.  Mr. Sensitive was jaundiced as a baby, so those colours just made him look sicker.  Blue it was.  Now he wears orange, yellow, red and blue.  When I got dumped with an avalanche of pink outfits for Little Miss Adorable I took it in stride.  Sorta.  At least I made use of them once we ran out of clean laundry.  Then I realised how much better her ‘peaches and cream’ complexion looks when she wears pink.  Pink it is.

Uni-sex toys.  Uh-huh.  Now Mr. Sensitive has a collection of toy soldiers, plastic weapons and cars of every type imaginable.  Little Miss Adorable?  She has a dozen baby dolls that she reads stories and sings songs to.  And, let me tell you, nobody better touch her baby stroller if a baby doll is sleeping in it.

The only one who is still living a gender-neutral life is baby Dunk, and that’s because we put him in his sister’s pyjamas when we run out of clean clothes.  It helps that he chews on anything he gets his hands on.  Today’s new toy was a raw potato.  Poor guy.  But at least it’s gender neutral.

The Sock Monster!

I write about life with my daughter, Little Miss Adorable in The Princess Gene and The Princess Gene Revealed.

You can check out some of Mr. Sensitive’s adventures in Kindergarten Chronicles.

Mr. Sensitive

Mr. Sensitive atop mountain

Mr. Sensitive at the Art Gallery of Ontario

Too much noise in the library

Crazy hair day
He was very proud that his hair looked like a volcano

Mr. Senstive was here

Mr. Sensitive at a car show

Mr. Sensitive and his rag-tag band of pirates / superheroes / ninjas

Baby Dunk in pink
(Yes, he’s a boy.)

shhh…

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in Early Childhood Development, Halfpastnormal is who we are, Kindergarten Chronicles, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boys

  1. I have a boy and a girl and while they play with each mother’s toys, they do it differently. She covers the trucks with a blankie for nite-nite time and he jumps the dolls off the roof of the dollhouse. They were born that way!

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

