So, why on earth are we quitting our jobs and moving to a small town?

It’s official –we’ve made the decision to move.  We’ve set a timeline.  (Which, I will spare you the details of, but let me assure you it does involve a flowchart.)  We are leaving our jobs with seniority, benefits and regular pay for hopefully comparable jobs with similar pay and benefits.  We’re leaving the healthcare systems and services the GTA is famous for, and moving to small-town Ontario.  If you really want to see the insane flip-flopping about this, check out I should have.

Otherwise, do you want to know why on earth are we quitting our jobs and moving to a small town?

There’ve been a few quotes posted lately that can help answer this.

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.” –A. Einstein

As a mother to three children under five, I am well aware that life is too short and time flies.  In the city I live on a treadmill – daycare drop, race to work, daycare pick up, race home, cook dinner, drop into bed stressed and exhausted only to do it all again the next day.  I essentially end up working just to pay for daycare and gas in my car to do all the running around.  This is not how I want to spend my time with my children.

All children are miracles, and my days with them are miraculous (and hard, and funny, and messy, and stressful). It’s taken me a few years of trying to make fulltime work and childcare work to realise they don’t, for us.

There’s nothing like a degenerative illness to give you a new perspective on life – Mr. Sensitive’s Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy certainly forces you to confront life, quality of life and what’s really important in life.  And it’s not what I thought it was.  Although kinda cheesy, there’s a real truth to Tim McGraw’s song, ‘Live Like You Were Dying.’  It’s the song I first thought of when we got the diagnosis and it’s a song I think of often.

A personal favorite quote of mine is from Robert Frost’s poem about two roads diverging in a wood and taking the one “one less traveled”.  It’s a quote I personally need to consider often in making decisions –I try to be ‘safe’ but am not happy with ‘safe’ – I want to take the road less travelled.

Finally, quotes from my son, Mr. Sensitive.  Upon marching naked out my parent’s front door (they live in the country), he announced,”A kid can really breathe out here!”

Regarding our family’s need to move to a slower paced life, Mr. Sensitive described a happy dream he had, “I had a dream that you and daddy were watching me singing and I was dancing and clapping.”  Clearly this is not happening with our crazy-busy city life.

Finally, when I asked Mr. Senstitive if he wanted to move into a house near Granny and Grandpa’s, he got a wistful look in his eyes, and quietly said, “Yes.”

I really should have asked him first.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Big City to Small Town, Halfpastnormal is who we are and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So, why on earth are we quitting our jobs and moving to a small town?

  1. aspiewarrior says:

    We love living in a small town. Enjoy.

  2. Great post! Sounds like it is the right decision for your family. Good luck with your move!

  3. Fish Out of Water says:

    I remember when my brother quit his job as a cameraman for our local CBS station and got a job at a bakery. He was happier than he’d ever been and my father thought he had lost all his marbles. You have to do what you have to do. I bet it will be great!

  4. funnygurl2 says:

    I had a job in an office of a major (now defunct) book retailer for 12 years and I hated about 10 years of it (although many of my co-workers were awesome and still are…). I have been unemployed for a year now and am enjoying the time at home with my 21 month old son. I feel guilty that I am not rushing out to get another job (although I will probably be required by our bank account to do so very soon), everyone tells me I won’t get this time back and I am doing the right thing for myself and my family right now.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

