Small Worlds

It’s a small world, after all.

Walt Disney 

The world of blogging is a really big small world, and there’s not so much that makes us different as what joins us.

In the era of the web 2.0 this is my blog 2.0.  BB (Before Blogging as I currently know it) I started in 2004 (organic gardening) & 2009 (Little Miss Adorable’s PWS diagnosis) and nothing stuck.  Then I rolled into veggiemama, and now onto halfpastnormal and a couple others (check out my blogroll if you’re interested).  I think of my current blogs as B2.0 (blog 2.0) – this is my third/fourth foray into the blogosphere.

I think the platform makes all the difference.  (Sorry Blogger and Canadian Parents.)  What strikes me on this time ‘round is how I’ve connected to other folks out there.  (Thank you TwitterGoodbye Facebook.)  And I’m not just connecting to folks in my socio-political niche (i.e. so far left I’m out in left field);  I’ve connected to folks I would not normally think I’d have anything in common with, and finding out I actually do.

You might be more religious than me, but we still have stretchmarks.  And kids, and meals to prepare, and kids to dress.  And we can laugh/cry/commiserate together.  You might be involved in the military (a lifestyle I’ve been ignorant of) and we still have kids with special needs.  I understand that lifestyle through and through.  You might be across an ocean or continent, but if you’re getting a new washing machine I am celebrating right there with you.

Aside: Check out Heartfelt Balance, Handmade Life’s video about her new washer, new haircut, and her husband’s trip to China as a BASE jumper.  I love the haircut, am super jealous & excited about the washing machine, and I completely understand her reasons in not going to China with her husband.  She mentions me too, thanks xo

It’s the small things that connect us all.  And I love learning about our ‘differences,’ because ultimately they are not so different after all.

Walt Disney was right – it is a small world.

It’s you folks that have changed the way I think about some things – thank you.  I appreciate your words and ideas, and thank you for sharing a part of your life with me – it’s enriched mine.

I’ve done shout outs before in my posts To All the Blogs I’ve Loved Before and My Versatile Blogger Award.   

This is a shout out to all Military families, Special Needs families, homeschooling families, religious families, transgendered families, and families everywhere.  Because now you’ve become part of my family.

Thank you.

xo Angela

PS. I cannot possible link to everyone out there, but please leave a comment and we’ll visit you.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Versatile Blogger Award and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

