Special Needs Superpowers Everyday – not just the Paralympics

Little Miss Adorable, wired for a sleep study
at Sick Kids Hospital, Toronto

To all the Superpowered, Special Needs Families –

Recently my coffeemaker broke.  You may remember this from my frantic SOS calls out on Twitter.  I was exhausted, having returned to a week of fulltime work.  I spent the week juggling the needs of my own kids (playdates, appointments, including an overnight sleep study at Sick Kids, and the usual cuddletime and kisses) with stressful demands of work and trying to turn around a battleship at work (metaphorically speaking).

On Friday evening I was driving home from a playdate for Mr. Sensitive and nearly fell asleep at the wheel – that’s how tired I was.  Saturday morning Baby Dunk woke me up at 5:00 am and wanted to play. I tried to cuddle him in bed, hoping he’d fall asleep.  He climbed all over me, zerberting and chirping, then pulled into a stand using my head for support.

He was clearly not sleeping.  Neither was I.

I dragged myself out of bed and to the coffeemaker.  It was broken.  So was I.

I was so tired I could not function or think coherently.  I gave Baby Dunk a sippy cup of milk, only to realize later that I really didn’t know if I poured it fresh or just picked it up off the floor and handed it to him.  Have you ever done that? 

It was fresh, thank goodness.  But that’s how tired I wasSo I did what anyone in my state would do:

I woke up Hubby and sent him out for coffee at Tim Hortons. 

I love that guy, because off he went, and returned with a dozen bagels for breakfast, two enormous coffees and a coconut donut for me.  That’s why I married him.

But that’s not really what this post is about.  It’s about all families, especially those with special needs, struggling to get through the day or week.  We all collapse into bed exhausted, and wake up too early and do it all again.  And again.

Somewhere in the background of my mind the Paralympics is going on.  I know I should be a stronger supporter of these amazing athletes with special needs.  With two children of my own with superpowers/special needs I am so inspired by what these athletes have accomplished.  The Paralmpics gives me hope for what my own two can accomplish.   (I know Little Miss Adorable would totally rock synchronized swimming and Mr. Sensitive would love archery.)

But most importantly, the Paralympics show a different way of being amazing.  Of being successful.  A different way of being different and outstanding.

I love the Paralympics because of this – it’s a celebration of excellence, diversity, and difference.  It’s a spectacular event that only comes around once every four years.

But, honestly, I’m too tired and busy to be much of a supporter.   And I need to deal with my enormous to-do list (including sign the kids up for extracurricular activities that can lead to the Paralympics) before school starts.

And for most families with kids with special needs, everyday is an accomplishment truly worth celebrating.

To all the superpowered, special needs families out there – this is your moment to shine, on your own podium.

Little Miss Adorable steals the show

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in disABILTY, Parenting, WTF Working Mom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

