Working Mom: Keep Calm and Carry On

I’ve been back at work for nearly two months now.  To say my life is crazy-busy is an underestimation.  I don’t know when I’ve ever been busier.  I’m working about 70-80 hours a week.  I didn’t know such a thing was possible, but with the rise of the internet it is now possible to work 24/7.  After working during the day I race home to a hot meal Hubby has ready, and start the juggle of getting three kids under five ready for bed (bath and books are a big part of it).  I work online once they are asleep.

Our mantra has been Keep Calm and Carry On.

Hubby says this is a dressed up version of ‘suck it up.’  Either way, channelling British stoicism is our way of dealing with all the mishaps that can happen when you try to do too much in too little time.

Seriously, I now have a picture of the Queen on my bedside table.  And a couple of Hello Canada magazines with articles about the Diamond Jubilee.  As I have never acknowledged the existence of the Royals before this, Hubby is not sure what to make of my newfound interest in the life of the Queen.

Frankly, I’m not too sure either.  We just Keep Calm and Carry On.

For those that are unfamiliar with the origins of this phrase, it was first on a WWII propaganda poster created by British government attempting to raise the morale of the British public in a very stressful and challenging time.

It’s the government’s way of saying ‘suck it up,’ there’s nothing we can do about it.  We just have to endure it and deal with things as best we can.

I teach at a public school.  One morning I was running late for work, stuck in traffic and only just made it to the school on time with the fumes left in my car’s gas tank.  (I forgot to get gas earlier and was too time crunched to stop now.)  While stuck in traffic I called ahead, talked to the classroom staff (teaching assistants) in the classroom, realised the craft supplies I wanted were not there, and my lesson for the day would have to change.

Of course once I was in the building I realised that I forgot some things in my car and had to run back to get them.  I struggled down the hall to my classroom weighed down by bags of stuff for the class and pulling a little cart behind me.  Curious students and teachers stared at me.

As I walked in the classroom I got a phone call from a very irate parent who proceeded to yell at me over a misunderstanding on her part.  I didn’t even have my jacket off yet.  The students filed into the room as I was dealing with this difficult phone call and fortunately the staff directed the students to the back of the room where they played a trivia game.

Eventually the matter with the parent was resolved (to her credit she apologised for yelling at me).  I hung up the phone, turned to the rest of the class, and announced, “Sometimes, you just have to Keep Calm and Carry On.”

From Wikipedia

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me, WTF Working Mom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

