The Culinary Adventures of Stay at Home Dad

Hubby has been chief cook, caregiver and household manager in these past two months while I’ve been working full time.  I think he’s done pretty well.  In terms of meals he’s mastered including different food groups – fish, rice and veggies.  Ok, that’s frozen veggies and frozen fish fillets that are cooked, and reheated rice (after the ‘burnt pot incident’ he is afraid to cook rice).  But still, it’s food, it’s hot, and I didn’t have to cook it.  To me, it’s absolutely glorious.

On nights I come home from a long day at work and he has a piping hot (previously frozen and store-bought) lasagne ready I am ecstatic.

Cooking all this prepared food has given Hubby new confidence.  He has started to bake cakes from mixes.  Open box, follow directions, pour into pan and bake at 350F.  A short while later he has a cake!  Amazing – it’s perfect, tastes good and he did it himself.  Talk about confidence building.

Hubby now talks about 9 x 13 inch baking pans vs 9-inch round pans.  He’s reading recipe books and looking at exactly how to ice a cake.  Just the other day I had to stop him from buying more mixing bowls and baking pans.  A baker myself, we have enough baking stuff.  I’m not telling him about silicon bake ware.

The other day he found a recipe for cheesecake.  Cheesecake is one of his favourite foods.  It is not one of mine, so I have never made one.  I probably never will either.  (See Operation Dessert Storm for more on this one.)

Hubby cut out the cheesecake recipe and read it and re-read it, like a cherished love letter.  He stared at the picture of the cheesecake on the recipe longingly.

One evening he went to the grocery store and returned with a graham cracker crust mix and three blocks of cream cheese.

He read the recipe on the crust mix, followed the directions and voilà! made a graham cracker crust.  He was very proud of the crust, and says “That was easy, I just had to follow the directions.”  I am busy working at the dinner table and mumble some reply.

I can hear Hubby in the kitchen.  He says things like, “I’m going to substitute this for…”  and “How do I bring cream cheese to room temperature…”  I mumble something and continue working.  I hear beeping, mixing and the oven door open and close.  But, I am really not paying attention.

30 minutes later I peek into the oven and am amazed – there is a real live cheesecake in there!!  Hubby successfully baked a cheesecake from scratch!  This is the person who is afraid to cook rice?!?  I am proud and astounded at the same time – how did this happen?

I go to bed feeling like I’ve witnessed a miracle.  Hubby stays up to watch his cheesecake cool down and put it in the fridge.

The next morning I wake up and Hubby announces he has saved me a slice.  He ate the entire cheesecake during the night.  Some things never change.

I managed to snap a picture of the cheesecake before Hubby ate it all.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in WTF Working Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Culinary Adventures of Stay at Home Dad

  1. Belinda says:

    I laughed all through this!! Out loud at te part about not introducing him to silicone bakeware!!! Awesome writing!!

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

