WTF– Sleep-deprived Challenges of Working mom

Yesterday was a very long day at work for me.  I spent 12 hours away from home and was ecstatic that Hubby had frozen fish sticks (cooked), rice and frozen vegetables (also cooked) ready when I came home.  They may or may not have been warm, as everyone had already eaten dinner an hour before.

Hubby also saved me a sliver of leftover coconut cream pie.  I was thrilled.  I inhaled all the food in a euphoric state and then cuddled with the kids for story time.  The entire family was asleep by 7:55 pm.

Here are snippets of our sleep-deprived life from Facebook:

From Tuesday Morning:

‎4:45 am EST I wake up to get some work done.  I am SOOO behind on deadlines, I’m running into my next deadlines.  I do a small, sleepy happy dance to celebrate the peace and quiet.
4:47 am EST Mr. Sensitive joins me.  He is excited to have someone awake with him to visit the marker-coverer pumpkin on the kitchen table.
4:48 am EST Little Miss Adorable is calling from her bed to get up NOW!  I cover her with a blanket, try to convince her to go back to sleep and cuddle with her baby dolls.  She yells ‘NO!’ and kicks off the blankets.

She laughs devilishly when I reluctantly pick her up.  I sigh.

4:50 am EST Little Miss Adorable demands milk and toast, NOW!

Mr. Sensitive is busy colouring Hallowe’en pictures and re-decorating the scary pumpkin.  I realise I forgot the powercord for my laptop at work.  I pray to the gods of coffee in humble appreciation.
4:55 am EST I give up working, check fb and make scrambled eggs.

From Sunday Morning:

4:00 am EST woken up by the sound of a five year old going through the kitchen drawers looking for a measuring tape #momrunslikehell

From Saturday Morning:

Was woken up way to early by a five year old hiding in my closet (a new take on the boogy-man).  Then tried to reason with him about NOT eating BBQ sauce for breakfast (to his credit, he thinks it’s a new *dessert sauce*).   It’s hard reasoning with someone who can’t read.

I need coffee… STAT!

From Thursday evening:

SOOO tired. The only thing keeping me going is the thought of coffee tomorrow morning.

The story of my life.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in Halfpastnormal is who we are, Sleep, WTF Working Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WTF– Sleep-deprived Challenges of Working mom

  1. Sara says:

    Look out time change 😉

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

