Cold and Flu Season – with a side of guilt

Motherhood – filled with guilt

What is motherhood without guilt?  If you spend too much time working to take care of your family, you feel guilty for not spending time with them.  If you spend too much time with your family, you feel guilty because you’re letting your job down.  Or your boss or co-workers.  Or you feel guilty because you’re not providing enough… the list goes on and on.

I’ve been ‘off’ work sick – actually, this means I still work online, and some (reduced) face-to-face, but I removed a 6 hour chunk of ‘being there, face-to-face’ work time from of my day.  I had laryngitis and as soon as I opened my mouth people looked at me in shock and horror and reached for the hand sanitizer.  As a new social pariah, a box of tissues was my only companion.

So I felt guilty for not being at work.

Then I looked around my tissue-strewn home and felt guilty for not spending enough time with the kids.

Yesterday we loaded everyone into the van and headed to the zoo.  Fortified with a box of tissues and assorted cold remedies, I sneezed and coughed my way through the day.

We all had a great time – no guilt required.

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in About Me, Halfpastnormal is who we are, WTF Working Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cold and Flu Season – with a side of guilt

  1. momsopinions says:

    You are so right, being a mom means constant battle between family and job. We can just do our best but family always comes first.

  2. Sorry to hear how sick you have been! I cannot cope when I have a cold! I haven’t responded to your email because I’m not sure what the answer is. I would like to discuss further because I do understand how complicated the bureaucracy makes it for teachers! I loved the photo in the leaves above. hope you recover soon!

  3. Stacey says:

    There’s really is nothing like Mama guilt, is there?! It sometimes feels like you can’t win no matter what you do. I hope you feel better soon.

    • Angela says:

      Thanks. I put myself to bed with my iPhone to catch up on work last night while hubby & kids watched movies & baked a cake. I really needed the rest.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

