Daylight Savings Time: The truth behind Math

Shhh…. the baby’s sleeping

1/a x 1/b x 1/c = 1 /abc

The odds of independently occurring events co-occurring decrease as the number of potential events increase.

Math tip – multiply the bottom numbers straight across and multiply the top numbers straight across and you will have the odds of all these events happening at once.  You can use words like numerators and denominators; or just say the more stuff that can happen, the less likely it will all happen at once.

Like children sleeping, all at the same time.

In our family of five the odds are at least one person will be tired / thinking of sleep while the four others are wide awake.  The odds also are that if 2/3 children are sleeping one of them will be awake.  Hopefully they will not wake the others.  Shhh…. Your brother/sister is sleeping, don’t wake them

I wrote this post at 4:00 am EST while my five year old Mr. Sensitive watched Puss and Boots on Netflix.  (What else can you watch at four o’clock in the morning?)

Thank the stars above that Little Miss Adorable and Baby Dunk are still asleep.  Yesterday was a busy day outdoors and the kids were wiped.  Last night poor Mr. Sensitive was exhausted and fell asleep before dinner.  Little Miss Adorable fell asleep soon after dinner.  Baby Dunk (who napped in the car) stayed up partying – biting, throwing toys, and trying to climb furniture –  until 10:30 pm, well after my bedtime.

What happens to us?

Our family starts to function in a weird country with overlapping time zones.

Little Miss Adorable and I are early risers.  When she was a baby she’d go to bed AND fall asleep at 6:30 pm and wake up at 6:21 every morning.  Like clockwork, she still follows this schedule.  (Don’t be mad at me, Mr. Sensitive usually needs a large amount of medication to fall sleep – you can imagine what he was like before that.)

Hubby and Baby Dunk like to sleep-in (they can often be found watching late night movies together while the rest of us are asleep).  Mr. Sensitive is on his own, usually falling between everyone else, and waking up whenever he wants.  He is the reason why we have a baby gate separating the bedrooms from the outside doors (and child covers on those door knobs) – he’s been know to try to get ‘fresh air’ at 4 am.

By the time Hubby and Baby Dunk are awake in the morning it’s lunch time for the rest of us.  Most nights I sleepily hand Hubby a crazy, biting Baby Dunk who’s trying to stand up on my head, mumbling, “Here, you take him, see if you can get him to sleep.”  Of course Hubby and Baby Dunk fall asleep on the sofa together, while watching late night movies.

I often find them there when I wake up at 4 o’clock in the morning.  Hubby and I pass each other like jet-lagged passengers on a trip you don’t come back from for 15 years or so.  I think he’s on South Pacific Time.  I’m not sure where I am.

Which leads me to the two times of year parents dread most – Day Light Savings Time.  Ironically, misnamed, there is no savings here.  The kids don’t sleep when they’re ‘supposed to’ at the best of times, never mind changing the time they are supposed to sleep at a couple times a year.  It means no one sleeps for a few weeks.  (See math on the odds of independent events co-occurring above.)

Sure, it’s fine and well that ‘fall back’ means I get to sleep an extra hour.  The kids sure won’t.   So I don’t.  Maybe I could sleep that extra hour if the folks who invented Day Light Savings Time watched my kids for me.  Just for an hour or so.  I want to catch up on my …zzzzz

How does your family survive Day Light Savings Time?  Do you have any tips for getting children to sleep?

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in Halfpastnormal is who we are, Parenting, Sleep and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daylight Savings Time: The truth behind Math

  1. oh, I so remember those days–and now i have a college age son who calls me at all hours of the night if he is stressed (and I encourage this)–so I am sure it will get better when you are in your seventies, but I am not sure

  2. funnygurl2 says:

    We don’t want our almost two-year old waking us up early, so we don’t put him to bed until 10:00PM (…or 10:30PM). It works great for him because he will sleep through the night (we are blessed) until like 8:30AM. But, we miss out on the child-free evening that people who put their children to bed at 8:00PM get to enjoy.

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

