Skool is stuped

A psychiatrist, a geneticist, and a pediatrician walk into an office.  Or make that their respective offices.  And sit in large leather chairs and turn to face our family.  Exchanging pleasantries.

No, this isn’t a joke, it’s an actually what happens in our world.

The psychiatrist declares that based on his 30 years of experience, my son will not learn in school.  The geneticist telling us to do whatever we could to ensure my son’s intelligence is stimulated.  The pediatrician bemused at discussing various types of bacteria with a five year old.

We talk with them, and they talk with us.  The conclusion – school is simply stupid.

It is a place where no one learns, and honestly, paperwork is about paperwork.  I could go on about egos, maintaining status quo, and class sizes.  Never mind endless phone calls, consultants and more paperwork.  But I can’t, because I work in a school.

I remember many years ago in teacher’s college, a professor announcing, “If ever you feel like a cog in an enormous system, it’s because you are.”

Now my kids are too.

Do you have any advice – please!!

About Angela

Super-powered, Special Ed teacher and special needs mama to FOUR (!) children with an assortment of special needs; including Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Prader Willi Syndrome. Our family features a heavy dose of good ol' ADHD). I blog about our halfpastnormal life.
This entry was posted in Education, Sensory Processing Disorder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Skool is stuped

  1. Ivy says:

    A link to the Facebook group “Duchenne and Education” here https://www.facebook.com/groups/105588576192263/

    Several homeschoolers are in the group too. Good luck!

  2. kartwheels says:

    Hi Angela, Just wanted to say that I did indeed stumble across your blog and I wanted to wish you much love and luck in your journey. Thank you for providing information about Prader-Willi Syndrome and Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy as well as it helps people to know more. Take good care and I invite you to visit my blog about unschooling/kid’s projects at http://kartwheels.org/
    Take good care!
    Karen

  3. You know… I stumbled upon your site and I just love you and your attitude. I wish I had more and better words to give you, but I believe you know (especially with your background) what is best for you and your family. I wish you all the best and have confidence that you will make the best decision for you, your husband, and you beautiful children! Look forward to following along! Thanks for sharing!

Like it? Share it! Please comment - I'd love to know what you think.

